About Certification

Program Overview

The PSAI’s certification program for portable sanitation professionals is the only credential in the world designed to recognize the specific competencies required for success in front-line roles in our industry. Since the program's inception in 1992, more than 2,000 individuals have successfully become certified.

The program consists of two parts: the Basic Service Technician Training series, which prepares candidates for certification by teaching basic competencies for portable sanitation operations, and a 50-60 question examination. The Basic Service Technician training series is not required by the PSAI for certification, though some states (such as Illinois and Georgia) do require the training series in additiona to the exam for licensure. Be sure to check with your state’s licensing body for details.

Certification is current for three (3) years before it must be renewed.

Levels of Certification

There are two levels of certification based on how many hours of job experience a candidate has. A Certified Portable Sanitation Professional (CPSP) has at least 2,000 hours of front-line experience, while a Certified Portable Sanitation Apprentice (CPSA) has been on the job for less than 2,000 hours. That’s one year of experience working full-time in a role such as service technician, driver, pick-up and delivery worker, or similar jobs.

How to Become Certified

Introducing the Portable Sanitation Association International's (PSAI) new On-Demand Online Certification Program! Accessible through our cutting-edge Online Learning Center, this program offers industry professionals the convenience and flexibility to enhance their skills and knowledge at their own pace. Whether you're aiming to advance your career or stay current with industry standards, our comprehensive courses are tailored to meet your needs. Visit our Online Learning Center through the link below and take the next step in your professional development today.

To be eligible for certification, an applicant must meet the following criteria:

  • Valid driver’s license
  • Ability to read, speak, and write the English language
  • Physical strength and agility to perform the relevant tasks
  • Commitment to following the CPSP Code of Ethics

The certification process is as follows:

  1. Submit the application and supporting documents
  2. Pay the appropriate fees
  3. Prepare for the exam
  4. Successfully pass the examination

Get Started Now

Your certification credentials will stay current for three (3) years before they must be renewed.

Competencies Required of Certified Portable Sanitation Professionals

There are five knowledge domains in which Certified Portable Sanitation Professionals must be competent to be certified. These are:

Knowledge Domain 1: Transportation and Logistics
  • Preparation for transporting equipment
  • Operation of tank vehicles
  • Site selection and equipment placement
  • Waste disposal
  • Vehicle inspection and maintenance protocols
Knowledge Domain 2: Servicing Portable Sanitation Equipment
  • Operation of pumping equipment
  • Maintenance and repairs of portable sanitation equipment in the field
  • Cleaning procedures
Knowledge Domain 3: Safety and Hazard Management
  • Personal protective equipment (PPE)
  • Materials handling
  • Spill containment
  • Accident/incident management
  • Infectious diseases
Knowledge Domain 4: Record Keeping
Knowledge Domain 5: Professional Demeanor and Conduct
  • Effective, courteous communication
  • Conduct reflecting positively on the profession

More Details on the
Competencies Required of
Certified Individuals

More about the Program

Candidate Handbook

A resource for individuals interested in becoming certified.

Program Manual

Everything you ever wanted to know about how the certification program works.

Program Development

Background information on how the certification program was created.